About APG

The Algarve Photographers Group was formed in 2007 and currently has just under 60 members. We are a multi-national group of friendly, enthusiastic individuals who enjoy photography and socialising in the sunny Algarve.


The Algarve Photographers Group meets on alternate Wednesday afternoons and some evenings (when the need arises), at the Museu do Traje do Algarve. Visitors are welcome! For a full schedule of meetings and other events, please visit our page of Events.

08 Going Underground by Nigel Moore


The Group was formed in May 2007 by Peter Schilde who had just launched a monthly Photography Course and Gordon Railton who was holding an exhibition of photographs at the museum at the same time. The Group held its first exhibition in December 2010 when there were only 16 members. By the end of 2022, a total of 81 exhibitions have been held.

A Delicate Arch, Tony Woods
20 The Tram by Daryl Gabin


Members range from active & ex-pros through keen hobbyists to casual snappers, and there’s a difference of about 60 years between the oldest members and the youngest. Most European countries are represented including the Netherlands, Germany, Belgium, France, Britain, Ireland and of course Portugal. The more experienced members are always willing to share their expertise with others.

Membership currently costs just 30 euros a year. For that, you get the opportunity to display your images in public at the Museum, enter competitions and challenges and attend workshops and field trips. Field trips usually last half a day, sometimes longer, and once a year a longer expedition is planned involving nights away from home. A Christmas get-together and a summer picnic are also part of the agenda each year.

Each year we hold our Awards Ceremony for the winner of the Order of Merit along with annual awards presented to members who, throughout the previous year deserve to be acknowledged for their participation, dedication, skills and contributions to the group.

Join us!

Steering Group (2024)

President (P): Daryl Gabin
Treasurer (T): Jan Tromp
Secretary (S): Marijke McBean
Support Role (SR): António Pires
Support Role (SR): Neil Adamson
Support Role (SR): Sharon Johnson
Support Role (SR): Robert Pool
Support Role (SR): Heidi Beck